page contents

Illinois Concealed Carry License Requirements

Illinois has the nation's longest and strictest training requirement in the nation. Whether you're an Illinois resident or out of state applicant, the training requirements remain the same. Out of state applicants have to meet a set of different qualifications. After meeting the qualifications and requirements you will need to submit a complete application. After reviewing your application the Illinois State Police shall issue you a license.

The qualifications are the following:

  1. at least 21 years of age

  2. currently have a valid Firearm Owner's Identification Card and at the time of the concealed carry license application meet the requirements for the issuance of a Firearm Owner's Identification Card and not be prohibited under the Illinois Firearm Owners Identification Card Act or federal law from possessing or receiving a firearm

  3. You have not been convicted or found guilty in Illinois or in any other state of:

  4. a misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the 5 years preceding the date of the license application; or

  5. 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, within the 5 years preceding the date of the license application; and

  6. you are not the subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification to own or possess a firearm;

  7. you have not been in residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism,alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the 5 years immediately preceding the date of the license application

  8. have completed firearms training and any education component required under the Concealed Carry Act.

Illinois Concealed Carry Training Requirements

As an applicant for a new license you will need to provide proof of completion of a firearms training course or combination of courses approved by the Illinois State Police of at least 16 hours, which includes range qualification time.

The Illinois concealed carry training will cover:

  1. firearm safety;

  2. the basic principles of marksmanship;

  3. care, cleaning, loading, and unloading of a concealable firearm;

  4. all applicable State and federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm; and

  5. instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm.

Upon applying for a new license you will need to provide proof of certification by a certified instructor that you passed a live fire exercise with a concealable firearm consisting of:

  1. a minimum of 30 rounds; and

  2. 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards; 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards; and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the Illinois State Police.

Keep in mind that a certificate of completion for an Illinois Concealed Carry License firearm training course shall not be issued to a student who:

  1. does not follow the orders of the certified firearms instructor;

  2. in the judgment of the certified instructor, handles a firearm in a manner that poses a danger to the student or to others; or

  3. during the range firing portion of testing fails to hit the target with 70% of the rounds fired.

The Illinois State Police and your certified firearms instructor shall recognize up to 8 hours of training already completed toward the 16 hour training requirement that we just covered. The prior training course must be approved by the Illinois State Police and recognized under the laws of another state. If you meet the prior training requirements then any remaining hours that you complete must at least cover the classroom subject matter covering all applicable State and federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm; and instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm.

The following shall exempt someone from the training requirements:

  1. a person who has qualified to carry a firearm as an active law enforcement officer,

  2. a person certified as a firearms instructor by the Concealed Carry Act or by the Illinois Law Enforcement Training Standards Board,

  3. or a person who has completed the required training and has been issued a firearm control card by the Department of Financial and Professional Regulations.

The State Police shall accept 8 hours of training as completed toward the 16 hour training requirement, if the applicant is an active, retired, or honorably discharged member of the United States Armed Forces.

It is up to the Concealed Carry Licensing Review Board to determine that you do not pose a danger to yourself, or others, or are a threat to public safety.

Your Illinois Concealed Carry License shall be valid throughout the State for a period of 5 years from the date of issuance. A license shall permit you (the licensee) to:

  1. carry a loaded or unloaded concealed firearm, fully concealed or partially concealed, on or about your person; and

  2. keep or carry a loaded or unloaded concealed firearm on or about you within a vehicle.

As an applicant for a new license or a renewal, you will need to pay $150 with your application.


Non-resident license applicants

The State of Illinois defines a "non-resident" as a person who has not resided within this State for more than 30 days and resides in another state or territory. The State Police shall by rule allow for non-resident license applications from any state or territory of the United States with laws related to firearm ownership, possession, and carrying, that are substantially similar to the requirements to obtain a license under the Concealed Carry Act. A resident of a state or territory approved by the State Police may apply for a non-resident license. As an out of state applicant you will need to apply with the Illinois State Police and must meet all of the qualifications described above, except for the Illinois residency requirement and the Firearm Owners Identification Card. You, as the applicant, will have to

  1. pay the $300 applicable fee.

  2. submit a notarized document stating that you are:

  3. eligible under federal law and the laws of your state or territory of residence to own or possess a firearm;

  4. if applicable, have a license or permit to carry a firearm or concealed firearm issued by your state or territory of residence and attach a copy of the license or permit to your application

After meeting the qualifications provided you will need to complete the application and submit the required documentation to the Illinois State Police.

If you would like to know what the license application consists of you can read about on our article which covers the contents of the application.

Now that you know what the qualifications are don't wait and register for our next class. You may register for your Illinois Concealed Carry firearms training class by clicking this link. We would love to answer any other questions that you may have regarding the concealed carry process. Please contact us with any questions you may have.

#ilconcealedcarry #ilccw #ilccl #ilccwpermit #ilcclpermit #ilconcealedcarryclass #chicagoconcealedcarry #concealedcarryclasses #illinoisconcealedcarry #illinoisconcealedcarrylicense #illinoisconcealedcarrypermit #illinoisconcealedcarryclass




54 views

CHICAGO, IL 

Tel: 773-669-4867

CONCEALEDCARRYDYNAMICS@GMAIL.COM